Wednesday, June 27, 2012

2012 Américas Book Award Winners

For more information visit

The Américas Award is given in recognition of U.S. works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction (from picture books to works for young adults) published in the previous year in English or Spanish that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States. By combining both and linking the Americas, the award reaches beyond geographic borders, as well as multicultural-international boundaries, focusing instead upon cultural heritages within the hemisphere. The award is sponsored by the national Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP).

The award winners and commended titles are selected for their 1) distinctive literary quality; 2) cultural contextualization; 3) exceptional integration of text, illustration and design; and 4) potential for classroom use. The winning book will be honored at a ceremony on October 23, 2010. at the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. 

2012 Américas Award Winners

Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck by Margarita Engle. Henry Holt and Company. 160 pages. ISBN 978-0805092400.

Pablo Neruda: Poet of the People by Monica Brown; Illustrated by Julie Paschkis. Henry Holt and Company. 32 pages. 978-0805091984.

2012 Américas Award Honorable Mention

Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall. Lee and Low Books, Inc. 224 pages. ISBN 978-1-60060-429-4 9 (hc)

The Queen of Water by Laura Resau and María Virginia Farinango. Delacorte Press. 352 pages. ISBN 987-0-385-73897-2 (hc ); 978-0-385-90761-3 (lib. bdg.); 978-0-375-89680-4 (ebook).

2012 Américas Commended Title

Sylva and Aki by Winifred Conkling. Tricycle Press. 151 pages. ISBN 978-1-58246-337-7 (hc); 978-1-58246-397-1 (lib.bdg.).

No comments: