Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Public Events at Macondo Writers Workshop

The Macondo Writers Workshop is an association of socially-engaged writers working to advance creativity, foster generosity, and serve community. Founded in 1998 by writer Sandra Cisneros and named after the town in Gabriel García Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude, the workshop gathers writers from all genres who work on geographic, cultural, economic, gender, and spiritual borders. An essential aspect of the Macondo Workshop is a global sense of community; participants recognize their place as writers in our society and the world.

Wednesday, July 24, 2019
6:30 PM – 8:30 PM CDT

San Antonio Public Library

This stellar faculty reading will take place at the San Antonio Public Library downtown in the SAPL Latino Collection. Our Macondo Writers Workshop leaders are Helena Maria Viramontes, Sherwin Bitsui, Joy Castro, Ruth Behar.  They are joined by the Macondo ad-hoc board members Alex Espinoza and Natalia Trevino.

All writers will have books for sale and will be available for autographs.

Light refreshments served. This event is free and open to the public.

Thursday, July 25, 2019
7 PM – 9 PM CDT

McAllister Auditorium
San Antonio, Texas

Internationally acclaimed, MacArthur Fellow, author of The House on Mango Street and Macondo Founder, Sandra Cisneros, will be starring in the play adaptation of Have You Seen Marie? by San Antonio playwright José Rubén De León. This will be a one of a kind show with elaborate costuming and serve as a fundraiser for Macondo Writers Workshop.

To open the evening, historic presidential inaugural poet, Richard Blanco, will be reading from his new book, How To Love A Country.

Dr. Ito Romo will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Authors will be available for book signing.  Books will be on sale by The Twig Bookshop.

Friday, July 26, 2019
8 PM – 10 PM CDT

Texas A&M Univeristy-San Antonio

Do not miss this!!!

Sarah Dalton
Eve Allegra Raimon
Amelia Maria de la Luz Montes
Miguel Angel Ramirez
Juanita E. Mantz (JEM)
Sehba Sarwar
Désirée Zamorano
Leslie Contreras Schwartz
Leslie Larson
Liliana Valenzuela
Saúl Hernández
Kay Ulanday Barrett
Leticia Del Toro
Cynthia Prochaska
Tisha Marie Reichle-Aguilera
Norma Liliana Valdez
Aida Salazar
Melissa Bennett
Janel Pineda
Monica Rico
Mona Frazier
Eneida Alcalde
Fan Wu
Xelena Gonzalez
Angelina Sáenz
Gabriel Fernandez
Marisela Barrera
Amada Perez
liz gonzalez
Daphne Santana -Strassmann
Maria Agui Carter
Rene Colato Lainez


No comments: